Sofia



Photo

My name is

Sofia


Listing ID:

100581
  • Female
  • Updated 9 months ago
  • Nationality - Country of Birth: Italy
  • Currently Living in: Reggio Emilia
  • Age: 18

About Me

Hi I’m Sofia, I’m 18 years old and I come from Italy.
I consider myself a cheerful, energetic and strong person: I like to take challenges and not to be idle. I’m really curious and I’m never tired of leading: I truly believe that every single person or experience can teach us something, even the most little one. I appreciate honest, sincere and loyal people, which I try to be too. Respect and trust are really important for me. I think I’m also funny, kind and generous.
This year I will attend the last year of high school in Italy. The high school that I’m attending is called “classic high school” and there you have the possibility to study dead languages as Greek or Latin, and other modern languages like English, Italian and German.
I’ve already lived in a foreign country: I was an Exchange Student for one year in Germany. It was until now the most beautiful experience in my life, during that year I learned a lot and I became more mature; I’ve profoundly changed and it made me the person that I am now. For this reason I’m not worried about living abroad far away from home: I know it’s a big challenge but I also know that I can face it; I can adapt to different situations and I’m really enthusiastic about going abroad and travelling.

I want to be an au pair because after my experience in Germany I feel I need more: I have the need to be closer with my host family, becoming so to say a member and not only a guest, building also a really deep relathioship with the kids; furthermore I want to start to be independent, because during my year in Germany my parents paid everything, but I want to start to earn money on my own, even with their help. I want to keep on being curious, I want to keep on learning what you learn when you go abroad, something that no one can teach you, not even in school: learning how to counting on yourself, being confident and face challenges that you wouldn’t normally need to face in your normal life. I want to learn how to take care of children in everyday life, not only a few times in a month.

In my free time I like reading, for example novels, fantasy books or classics, as Platon or Dante Alighieri; playing guitar and sing, alone or with my band; listening to music, especially the rock from the 80s but most recently alternative rock; watching films, for the most part action movies; painting, hanging out with friends and calling my boyfriend: I say calling because we’re having a long distance relathioship. We met in Germany and he lives in Mexico, it has been difficult dealing with this problem but actually it’s better than I thought, we’re growning up and becoming stronger together. Counting the fact that I always wanted to be an au pair after school and before university, and Mexico was always fascinating for me, more after that I met a lot of exchange and him, when I got to know a little bit the culture and the people, I want to try to combine together this needs: so do what I’ve always wanted to do in my life and try to be together with him after a lot of time; I’m saying this because I want to clarify that I don’t want to become an au pair or go to Mexico only because of him. Furthermore after this months of being an pair I would like to study psychology at university, in Mexico or in Europe. That’s why I want to learn Spanish, because I want to have a lot of options: go to university and study in English, in German or in Spanish. I don’t want stay in Italy because even if I love my country, sadly it doesn’t give you a lot of possibilities nowadays. Also my family is moving to Austria, so I will see where I can go and study. Right now I just want to make an experience abroad as my first one, but more important, more significant, that’s gonna teach me how to start being independent and to work doing something that I like, so taking care of children.


Personal Details

Town, City:
Reggio Emilia
State, Region, County:
Italia
Your Religion:
Catholic
Hold a current and clean driving license?:
yes
Confident to drive in your target country?:
yes
Can you swim:
Yes
Housework experience:
I normally cook, clean the floor of my house, wash the dishes and do the laundry
Do you smoke:
No
Criminal Records:
No
How long will you be available?:
6-12 months
Do you want to live with the famiy?:
Yes
Childcare Experience:

I've never been an au pair in my life, but this is for sure not my first experience with kids. I started at 14 years old, when my sister was 9 years old and my mother had to work: I helped her doing homeworks and normally we were cooking or painting together, something that we still do. Then at 16 years old I started to take care of my two cousins, of 6 and 2 years old. We were, as with my sister, cooking or drawing, I read a lot of books for them (I love reading and I think it's really important for kids, because it simulates the imagination, it helps the kid with the language and transmits values for all his/her life) and playing with dolls or puppets: I like to see how kids create stories from anything. They only need a little toy and they can create a whole world with that; I think it's amazing, because imagination is one of the most beautiful ability of a kid, also when they are older than 2 or 6 years old.
This year I will try to take care of my new little cousin of 1 years old (she was born while I was abroad) but it will be only a couple hours: I still need to get used with babies.

Preferred Target Country:
Mexico
To message Aupairs directly we can upgrade your subscription to include direct messaging. To upgrade, click this link and choose one of the 3 available paid subscription packages. Once payment is received we’ll upgrade your subscription and notify you once messaging is available - Thank you.