Mackenzie



Photo

My name is

Mackenzie


Listing ID:

100110
  • Female
  • Updated 5 days ago
  • Nationality - Country of Birth: Canada
  • Currently Living in: Canada
  • Age: 18

About Me

Dear family,

 

Hi there! My name is Mackenzie Ryann , and I am delighted to be sharing some information about myself with you and your family. I have been interested in becoming an au pair since I was 15 years old, and travelling around the world is something I have always wanted to do. Immersing myself in a new setting and culture would also be a fantastic opportunity for me to grow and learn about myself as a person, as well as the other culture.

I was born – on September 25th, 1998 – and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. Currently, I attend the University of Manitoba, studying chemistry and biology with aspirations of becoming a pharmacist. I graduated from Vincent Massey Collegiate in June of 2016, magna cum laude, and received scholarships for academic excellence and involvement in the community.

My immediate family consists of an older brother Jordan, younger sister Jamie, and parents Chris and Laurie. Jordan is eighteen months older than me – he never lets me forget that – and Jamie is three years younger than me; she is probably one of my best friends. My parents have been married for 22 years, and raised me and my siblings to appreciate and love our family, and our friends. They have instilled values of empathy, compassion, and respect, and made me who I am today.

My passion for childcare began with the birth of my younger cousin, Hunter, back in 2005. Since then, the folly and affection has increased three-fold as three more cousins were introduced into my life, each of which I have cared for by myself on multiple occasions. These cousins include Kingston, born in 2007, and twin girls Stevie and Maggie, born in 2013. I have also babysat my close friend, Maddie Hanton’s, younger brother Alex, who is five (and adorable).

As well as caring for my own family, my two jobs, both past and present, are focused primarily around the development and nurturing of children. Currently, I am a pre-competitive swim coach with the Manitoba Marlins Swim Club, and have been since September of 2013. I work with children ages 6 to 12, and instruct through audio, visual, and kinesthetic techniques, about how to swim proficiently and gracefully while maintaining a fun atmosphere on pool deck (and retaining the title of the “Cool Coach”). My career as a swim coach stemmed from the ten years I swam with the Manitoba Marlins, joining the team when I was six years old. As well as my coaching position with the Manitoba Marlins Swim Club, I was also a birthday party hostess at a bakery called Sweet Impressions, during the summer of 2016. For each party, I would work with children ages six to ten, together making icing colours and demonstrating cookie decorating techniques. Then the children would be off to work decorating their own cookies under my supervision. I also had experience working in the kitchen of the bakery, icing cupcakes and making cake-pops, amongst other baked sweets.

Both jobs are products of important aspects of my life; my love for swimming and my love for baking. I also enjoy cooking, but not to the depth of baking. Other passions of mine include film-photography, reading, writing, and anything involving music. My musical interests include: playing ukulele with proficiency, playing guitar with mediocrity, and singing. I was a part of my high school’s choir during the three years that I attended the institution, and with the choral program I was given the opportunity to travel to Banff’s Rocky Mountain Music Festival in years of 2015 and 2016. I even performed solo at my senior-year winter choir concert.

In terms of jobs around the house, I am comfortable to care for children on my own, and am comfortable to run errands, make meals, and clean whatever needs to be cleaned. I have taken a foods and nutrition class, and have certifications in life-saving, life-guarding, CPR, first-aid, and have accreditation in Making Ethical Decisions, Respect in Sport, and Swimming 101 – Fundamentals Level.

My first language is English, and that is the language I speak at home and at work. I also have some knowledge of French, and can speak it minimally.

As far as living arrangements are concerned, I am very interested in living with a host family for 9-12 months (or longer should everything fall into place), and would love to be situated with children as young as six months old to 12 years old. I have worked with children in that age range on many occasions – through coaching, birthday parties, and babysitting. I plan on being very flexible in availability with the hope of attending either a language class or a baking course which may occupy some of my time.

I hope to share more of my life with you, and to hear from you soon. Thank you for considering my application!

 

Sincerely,

Mackenzie


Personal Details

Town, City:
Winnipeg
Passport held?:
Canadian
State, Region, County:
Manitoba
Your Religion:
Christian
Do you practise your religion?:
No
Profession or Qualification:
student and swim coach
Education:
first year University
Languages you speak:
english
Hold a current and clean driving license?:
yes
Confident to drive in your target country?:
yes
Likes Pets:
Yes
Can you swim:
Yes
Housework experience:
cooking and cleaning
Do you have any nut or food allergies?:
No
Do you smoke:
No
Criminal Records:
No
How long will you be available?:
12 months
Hobbies and Interests:
baking/cooking, reading, music
Do you want to live with the famiy?:
Yes
Childcare Experience:

babysitting - children ages 6months to 11 y/o, early childhood education (nursery school) - children ages 3 to 4 y/o, swim coach - children ages 6 to 11 y/o, birthday hostess - children ages 6 to 11 y/o

A valid family subscription package is required to contact Aupairs