• Call now on: +44(0)20 7097 5135
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Placing Au Pairs and Nannies globally since 1994

Kirsten



Photo

My name is

Kirsten


Listing ID:

103614
  • Female
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
  • Nationality - Country of Birth: South Africa
  • Currently Living in: South Africa
  • Age: 21

About Me

I was born in Johannesburg but grew up in Cape Town as an only child. My family is small, but incredibly loving and I have a great relationship with my parents. I enjoy mountain biking, playing tennis, being creative through painting, sketching and embroidery, as well as spending time in the ocean. I have two dogs whom I love dearly and welcome any opportunity to spend time with animals. My Christian faith inspires a great passion in me for restorative justice in my country, South Africa. Ultimately my goal in life is to pursue meaningful social change through relationships across cultures.

I am due to graduate from the University of Cape Town in December 2020 with a Bachelor of Social Work. The Masters programme I wish to do will only be available from January 2022, so I have decided to take a ‘gap year’ during 2021, before settling down in my career as a social worker.

I would love to spend the year abroad, exploring the UK and Europe, while gaining global perspectives and valuable work experience in a care profession. Furthermore, I believe becoming an Au Pair is an incredible opportunity which will provide me with invaluable skills to carry over into future professions. I greatly enjoy spending time with children and being part of their journey to adulthood; I believe they have a lot to offer and a unique perspective of which adults could often do well to be reminded! The passion I have for caring for children and making sure their needs are met with love and gentleness has been growing since I was a teenager. I believe wholeheartedly in the impressionability of children, and that the influences in their lives growing up shape the person they eventually become. I would be honoured to spend this year getting to know your family and helping with the beautiful responsibility that is taking care of a child.

I would consider myself to be a well-rounded, well-adjusted and mature person, always open to a challenge and new experiences. I am passionate about life and about bridging the gap between worlds. My sense of humour and warm, friendly demeanor help me to form meaningful relationships with anyone. Despite loving fun and adventure in any sense, I am responsible and hold myself to the highest standards in all I set out to accomplish. I would also consider myself to have a broad knowledge base which makes it easy for me to engage in conversation with almost anyone and tackle difficult situations with wisdom. I can guarantee that the personal skills and broad range of experience I will bring to this position will not disappoint – and I am a very quick learner!

I am good at what I do as a social worker. I have had four years of practical experience and theoretical input in assessing and counseling children during my studies. My understanding of children’s life stages and developmental tasks has underpinned my professional intervention with them, as well as aided in my ability to offer spiritual guidance during my volunteer involvement at church youth ministries, and age-appropriate comfort and care in babysitting and other experience with looking after children.


Personal Details

Town, City:
Cape Town
Passport held?:
South Africa
State, Region, County:
Western Cape
Your Religion:
Christian
Do you practise your religion?:
Yes
Profession or Qualification:
Tutor
Education:
Bachelor of Social Work (Graduation Dec 2020)
Languages you speak:
English, Afrikaans, French
Hold a current and clean driving license?:
yes
Confident to drive in your target country?:
yes
Likes Pets:
I love all animals!
Can you swim:
Yes
Housework experience:
yes
Do you smoke:
No
Criminal Records:
No
How long will you be available?:
11 months
Hobbies and Interests:
Cycling/mountain biking, tennis, hiking, camping, embroidery, sketching, painting, traveling.
Do you want to live with the famiy?:
Yes
Childcare Experience:

Experience with Children:
All experience with children has been within South Africa.
-Through my Social Work degree at UCT I have been placed at two schools for my field practicum where I act as a student counsellor, community project manager and group therapist. I was placed at Rylands Highschool (ages 13-18) from July to November 2018 and have been at Edgemead Primary School (ages 6-13) since January 2019.
-I led high school youth ministry (ages 13-18) at my church from May 2015-June 2018, which involved discipleship, relationship building and biblical teaching.
-I have been leading at my church's pre-teen ministry (ages 11-13) since January 2019. This involves much of the same as the high school ministry.
-I have been tutoring school children aged 9-18 through TeachMe2 since February 2018. This has allowed me to learn to relate very well to children.
-I have been volunteering with my church's social justice ministry since June 2018, which organises a 'fun day' of arts and crafts, games, and bible stories, for the children who attend Mokone Primary School in Langa Township once a month. I have been placed in charge of the preschool age group, ages 0-6.
-I have been part of the church's babysitting ministry (to babysit the elders' children while they attend church meetings) since March 2019. I have also been babysitting privately since November 2018.
-When I was in high school, I used to volunteer at Vera School For Autistic Children.
-In 2017 I went on a mission trip to Addo in the Eastern Cape in South Africa and had experience with children there similar to that at Mokone Primary.

Preferred Target Country:
United Kingdom
To message Aupairs directly we can upgrade your subscription to include direct messaging. To upgrade, click this link and choose one of the 3 available paid subscription packages. Once payment is received we’ll upgrade your subscription and notify you once messaging is available - Thank you.