Emily



Photo

My name is

Emily


Listing ID:

100352
  • Female
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Nationality - Country of Birth: United States
  • Currently Living in: New York City
  • Age: 20

About Me

Dear Family,

I am a native New Yorker and I grew up there as the only child of my two parents. I have lived there for most of my life but when I was nine years old my family moved to Mexico and then two years later back to New York. I have always wanted younger brothers and sisters and because of that I have always loved baby-sitting and spending time with children. My mother works in the publishing business and my father is a political cartoonist. As an artist my father took me to museums every weekend which we would get to with a quick bike ride through Central Park. I have grown up exploring the city, and when I babysit I love to show the children all of the incredible places I have been including museums, beautiful parks, an enchanting street or anything that I think they might enjoy. I have always loved to turn anything and everything into a fascinating opportunity to learn and discover.
I have worked at language immersion summer camps, taking care of babies, toddlers and older children up to twelve years old. I have a very large extended family and when my cousins were born I spent summers living with them and helping take care of the children either two or three at a time. I helped cook for them, clean and take them to camp.
I am currently studying to become an actor in theater, taking as many classes as I can and I would like to start studying film acting. I am also very passionate about environmental studies, particularly in the field of sustainable agriculture, working on a farm, how to grow food, and connect communities to healthy food and the people who grow their food. I think an important part of being an actor is creating as many experiences as possible and understanding the world around you. I am taking a break from my studies to gain more perspective on the world and how I would like to pursue my interests in the future. I believe France is a wonderful place to do this because the culture is so special, and certainly a refreshing change from the current one I am living in now.
In regards to my hobbies, I love to sing (especially jazz), I have a soft spot for pets (I helped train and walk dogs for the past two summers) and I have always loved taking care of animals. Nothing makes me happier than finding a cool spot at a cafe or a picnic spot to sit and read a good book, but I am equally happy with a full day of exploring museums, seeing new theater or trying good food at either a new restaurant or cooking at home.

As I mentioned before I think being an au pair in France provides a wonderful opportunity to really get to know French culture, learn the language fluently, and because it will all be exciting and new to me I know I will be able to impart that excitement and energy to the children or child I will be taking care of. I also think a great part of being an au pair is the ability to show the child or children that they have as much to teach me as I have to teach them and empowering them in this way.


Personal Details

Town, City:
New York
State, Region, County:
New York
Education:
attending Bard College
Languages you speak:
English, Spanish
Hold a current and clean driving license?:
yes
Confident to drive in your target country?:
yes
Likes Pets:
Yes!
Can you swim:
Yes
Housework experience:
Yes.
Do you have any nut or food allergies?:
None
Do you smoke:
No
Criminal Records:
No
How long will you be available?:
12 months
Hobbies and Interests:
Acting, directing, singing, painting, cooking , reading, writing, dancing, yoga
Do you want to live with the famiy?:
Yes
Childcare Experience:

Taken care of children since I was twelve

Preferred Target Country:
france
To message Aupairs directly we can upgrade your subscription to include direct messaging. To upgrade, click this link and choose one of the 3 available paid subscription packages. Once payment is received we’ll upgrade your subscription and notify you once messaging is available - Thank you.