Dagný



Photo

My name is

Dagný


Listing ID:

100669
  • Female
  • Updated 4 weeks ago
  • Nationality - Country of Birth: Iceland
  • Currently Living in: Reykjavík
  • Age: 24

About Me

My name is Dagný and live in Reykjavík. I’m a huge family person and I always make sure to have time for my parents, brothers and cousins. I’d say I’m very open minded and non-judgemental. I would describe myself as a giving, strong, warm and independent person. My strengts are my communication skills and good humour. But I can also be serious and like having deep conversations with good friends.

I would like to live abroad again and experience a new culture in a “non-touristic” way. I feel like being a part of the community and living with the locals helps with that.
I love kids! Teaching, cuddling, playing, singing, laughing and learning from them. I’m a big beliver in positive psychology and my goals are always to strengthen the child’s independence and self image. My passion is to work with children and I know I will continue doing that for the rest of my life.


Personal Details

Town, City:
Reykjavík
Passport held?:
Icelandic
State, Region, County:
Reykjavík
Your Religion:
Not religious
Profession or Qualification:
Health care assistant in the child and adolescent psychiatric inpatient unit at the university hospital of Iceland
Languages you speak:
Icelandic, English, Danish and the basics in Spanish and Norwegian.
Hold a current and clean driving license?:
yes
Confident to drive in your target country?:
yes
Can you swim:
Yes
Housework experience:
I always tidy up after myself and like to have my surroundings neat.
Do you smoke:
No
Criminal Records:
No
How long will you be available?:
6 months
Hobbies and Interests:
Besides working with children I love travellling, meditation, yoga and trying new things.
Do you want to live with the famiy?:
Yes
Childcare Experience:

So for the past two years I've worked as a health care assistant in the child and adolescent psychiatric inpatient unit at the university hospital of Iceland. I work with kids and teenagers who have mental or behavioral problems and their families. Right now I'm also finishing a course called PMTO (parent management training) which is a parent educational model based on behavioral analysis. Last spring I had a 22-hour Childplay Yoga training program which provides invaluable skills for educating, exercising and empowering children. In Iceland I've also worked in a kindergarten for two years and in group homes for disabled people. Then ofcourse I've been babysitting since I was really young and for one summer I was kind of an au pair in Norway. I say kind of because I was babysitting my cousin.

I've also gone overseas to volunteer with kids, which had a huge impact on who I am today. In 2013 I went as a volunteer to South Africa for three months to work with kids in townships, that was truly amazing and I still miss the kids to this day. In 2015 I went to Mexico for 6 months and there I worked in a group home for boys from 5-15 year old. Ooh the fun I had playing football with them! It was difficult for the first months because of the language barrier and the boys had a great time tricking me into saying swear words(I didn't understand!!) in spanish. But when I started understanding and speaking spanish it was easier to gain the boy's trust and respect.

Preferred Target Country:
any country
To message Aupairs directly we can upgrade your subscription to include direct messaging. To upgrade, click this link and choose one of the 3 available paid subscription packages. Once payment is received we’ll upgrade your subscription and notify you once messaging is available - Thank you.