• Call now on: +44(0)20 7097 5135
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Placing Au Pairs and Nannies globally since 1994

103591



Family id:

103591

Location:

United Kingdom

Nationality:

English as a first language to avoid frustrations from both parties

  • Elderly Help
  • London
  • Posted 3 months ago
Age:
45
Religion:
None
Preferred Start Date:
To be agreed
Minimum stay:
12 months

Description

Hello, I’m looking for somebody to help my father (76) to continue to live in his own home. Up until early 2019 he was a socially active individual, travelling into Central London frequently to meet up with friends & family. In late 2018 he was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer (which is being managed and in under control), and in mid-2019 was diagnosed with Colon Cancer (which is again being managed and under control. He is confined to the downstairs of the house as a reaction to the cancer has left him extremely weak and unable to use the stairs, he needs a walking frame to walk. He has enough independence to use the bathroom on without assistance, but does need help lifting his feet/legs in & out of bed. He spends most of his days watching TV and Sky Sports.

Duties would be focused around helping him in & out of bed, including if he wakes up during night hours needing help to get out of bed – you would not have to accompany him to the bathroom, just wait to help him back into the bathroom.

Pets in the home:
No
Will we accept a Smoker?:
No
Facilities:
Large Garden
Type of home:
Detached House
Gender preference:
Either
Accommodation:
There is a double bedroom and a shower room or a double bedroom with en-suite on the 1st floor above his bedroom, either of which can be dedicated for you. You will have your own dedicated fridge/freezer to keep your food in. Washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher are all available for use.
Do we have any pets?:
no
Pocket money:
Pocket Money can be provided
Country - IMPORTANT - Please select your country!:
United Kingdom
Families language/s:
English
Do we have a cleaner?:
yes
Is babysitting required?:
No
Available Transport:
Local buses 5 mins walk, local train (slow) station 10 mins walk, main line train (fast) to London/Gatwick 25 min walk.
Language school:
Purley Language School is a walk, or a train into London takes 40 mins.
Will we need you to Shop?:
Yes
Free time:
All day once he's up. Can arrange directly with my father about going out in the evening.
Essential Language/s:
English
Use of a vehicle?:
No
Nationalities:
English as a first language to avoid frustrations from both parties
Do we need a driver?:
no
AM Duties:

Help him get up between 07:30 - 09:00, make him a cup of tea and breakfast. Then free time

PM Duties:

Free time until you need to make his evening meal (about 18:00), wash and tidy up and then free time until bedtime, then help him get into bed (between 22:00 - 23:30).

Any Special Needs:

n/a

Other requirements:

He currently has carers visiting everyday (Monday through Sunday) to ensure he's okay, this includes helping him to get washed & dressed every morning and all medication is taken - we expect this arrangement to continue. He has a cleaner to clean his living areas, we would expect you to keep your living area clean & tidy (within reason).