• Call now on: +44(0)20 7097 5135
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Placing Au Pairs and Nannies globally since 1994

103310



Family id:

103310

Location:

United Kingdom

Nationality:

Any

Require Elderly Help

First name (partner):
Susan
Preferred Start Date:
20 January 2020
Minimum stay:
12 months

Description

My parents are 78 and 79 years old. They live one of the most beautiful parts of England – a small market town called Bakewell which is famous for it’s regional puddings and is situated in a National Park. My mother likes going to her Art group and Day Centre where she socialises and gets up to lots of crafts activities, singing with people closer to her age. She also likes trips out, someone to accompany her and make cups of tea, chat too. She attends her group every Wednesday and Thursday. The companion should take her walking around the town and to attend her groups. Evenings are usually quiet and my parents like to sit together watching TV – you would be welcome to join them whenever you like or can retreat to your room.

My father enjoys wood working and solving puzzles. He hasn’t been well lately as he struggles with arthritis so he finds going out a bit challenging, so the companion should encourage him to get back on his feet and help him around the kitchen, with light meal preparation or take him to a doctors appointment.

Both my parents enjoy watching movies together and generally winter evenings they both stay in front of the TV and enjoy relaxing! They also attend a dinner at the church.

Pets in the home:
Cat
Will we accept a Smoker?:
No
Type of home:
House
Gender preference:
Either
Do we have any pets?:
yes
Country - IMPORTANT - Please select your country!:
United Kingdom
Families language/s:
English
Do we have a cleaner?:
yes
Language school:
Sheffield
Free time:
Weekends might be asked to help with lunch but mostly they are free and evenings and afternoons apart from Weds and Thursdays are mostly free time.
Essential Language/s:
English
Use of a vehicle?:
Sometimes
Nationalities:
Any
Do we need a driver?:
useful
AM Duties:

Taking my mother/father for a walk in the morning and to her doctors appointment or to see the nurse. Encouraging them to do their physio exercises. Helping clear away pots after meals and empty the bin or tidy house. They have a cleaner already so would be light vaccuming or putting pots away. Light meal preparation as we have another service come in Morning and Evening, and most lunchtimes are covered - but 3-4 lunchtime meals per week and some evening sandwiches. Shopping - not very often but if they need something. Feeding the cat! In total shouldn't be more than 1-2 hours

PM Duties:

Meeting my mother from her day group (Tuesday + Wednesday only) at 3pm. Taking them for a walk. Perhaps an errand such as posting a letter or fetching a pint of milk or some medicine from the local pharmacy. Errands each day will vary - depending on what they need - they will ask you or I can message you as well. It is quite simple stuff. Reminding my mum to go to bed at 10pm and putting the electric blanket on. Feeding the cat! In total shouldn't be more than 1-2 hours

Other requirements:

Patient and kind, experience working with elderly and able to be supportive and take the initiative - some experience with elderly preferred but most importantly someone caring and able to offer help when needed.