100825



Family id:

100825

Location:

Germany

Nationality:

English native speaker

First name (partner):
Hayo
Age:
38
Partners Age:
45
Preferred Start Date:
1 April 2018
Minimum stay:
12 months

Description

We are looking for an Au Pair to help us with our two kids, a boy aged 3 and a girl aged 1. Both children are lively, happy and friendly. They are active and move a lot, so it is no disadvantage if you are a sporty person. Don’t worry, both also enjoy quiet activities a lot such as doing puzzles or reading books, so it is not too challenging all the time ;-). They are very social and like to play and giggle with other children. We have a lot of fun with them!

We would need you to help us to get the children ready in the morning and in the evening. Sometimes you will pick them up from Kindergarden. In the afternoon you play with them or accompany us on outings. We do not need you all the time but you should be around then. Furthermore you should help us a little bit in the household (e.g. clearing the dish washer, help to prepare breakfast/dinner). You might sometimes have to cook stuff like fish fingers or scrumbled eggs for the children but we do not expect you to cook a whole family meal.

After the children left for Kindergarden until they return in the afternoon you have time off e.g. for language school. Also on the weekends you will mostly have time off. Sometimes we might need you for babysitting in the evening or even occasionally during day time, but we will discuss this with you in advance and take care that you have enough leisure time. If you want to you can join us on our weekend and holiday trips or do trips on your own if we are on vacation.

So far the children do only understand  and speak German. We think that it would be a good opportunity that they also learn some English. Therefore it would be ideal if you are fluent in English and – besides learning German yourself – speak English with them. We would however expect that you speak at least some basic German so that you could communicate with them in the beginning. We are both fluent in English and speak some French, Spanish and Russian.

We are still living in a flat in the very center of Frankfurt am Main in a nice and calm residential area. The city center with all its shops and Frankfurt’s famous “Palmengarten” (a nice park and botanical garden) are within working distance.

Hopefully in Summer 2018 we will move to Bad Soden am Taunus where we are currently building a house. Bad Soden is a smaller town at the countryside which is only 15 km away from Frankfurt. To get to the center of Frankfurt it only takes about 20 minutes by car or about 40 minutes by bus and metro train.

Our house is located in a pure residential area besides a forrest.  It is absolutely quiet and beautiful. The area is part of the “Taunus”, a low mountain area with a lot of woods which offers plenty outdoor activities such as for example hiking or mountain bike tours or in the winter sleding or even some skiing. You could actually use our house as a starting point to do hiking or mountain bike tours. On the other hand, Supermarket and Kindergarden are within walking distance. As the area is however quite hilly, it might be the better choice to take a car or bus, that also has a stop in 5 minutes walking distance.

If you join us before we move to Bad Soden, you will have a room in our Frankfurt flat with a separate bathroom. The room is a little bit separated from our area, so you will have your privacy. In Bad Soden you will have your own small flat in the basement of our house with direct access to the garden, a beautiful view and with a separate entry.

We have a piano which you could also use if you are playing!

Frankfurt and the area surrounding is definitely worth spending your Au Pair time. Frankfurt is a very international city with nice and open minded people. As it is rather small, you can do a lot by walking which we appreciate a lot. The city is full of exciting contrasts such as the skyscrapers and modern and fancy quarters on the one hand and the medieval center and plenty of Wilhelminian style buildings on the other hand. It is full of history! In medieval times German kings were crowned in Frankfurt and Germany’s most famous writer “Johann Wolfgang von Goethe” was born and raised in Frankfurt. At the banks of the river Main there is a fine and renowned museum strip. Frankfurt is also famous for its night live and its “Apfelwein-Kneipen” (apple-wine pubs) where people of all ages go to but which are in particular popular for students.

On the weekends we often do trips to the Rheingau (just 40 minutes by car). The “Rheingau” is Germany’s most important whine area, where we do hiking tours across the whineyards, visit castles and picturesque whine villages and go to beautiful open-air whine restaurants. Within one our driving distance there is also the “Romantic Rhine Valley” which is also nice for hiking tours, trips to castles or boat trips. Furthermore, interesting other cities are very close such as Mainz, Bingen and Worms which are the heart of medevial Germany or Heidelberg and the Wilhelminian Wiesbaden which are also worth visiting.

Last but not least, Frankfurt has Germany’s most important airport (just 20 driving minutes from our home) which you could use for trips accross Europe.

Please contact us if you would like to know more about our family!

Will we accept a Smoker?:
No
Type of home:
Flat in Frankfurt and house with garden in Bad Soden
Gender preference:
Female
Accommodation:
sepparate appartment in our house
Do we have any pets?:
no
Country - IMPORTANT - Please select your country!:
Germany
Families language/s:
German
Do we have a cleaner?:
yes
Is babysitting required?:
yes
Available Transport:
car, train, bus
Language school:
yes, Frankfurt am Main or Eschborn
Will we need you to Shop?:
yes, but only minor shopping
Essential Language/s:
English / German
Use of a vehicle?:
Yes
Nationalities:
English native speaker
Do we need a driver?:
useful