Family id:





First name (partner):
Partners Age:
Preferred Start Date:
8 January 2018
Minimum stay:
6-12 months


Dear Aupair

I’m Nicole, Jon is my husband and Emilia and Leo are our children.

We live in San Sebastian, in the Basque Country in Northern Spain but we are both British.  We moved here nearly 10 years ago and now have a growing business we own in the city as well as other locations in Spain. We love living in San Sebastian.  The quality of life here is really good and it’s a great place to bring up children.  It is a beautiful town on the Bay of Biscay with a population of around 180,000.  We are lucky enough to have three fantastic beaches on our doorstep and the town is very lively with plenty going on all year round.  We have an international jazz festival (July) and film festival (September) and most local people live their life on the street enjoying hopping from bar to bar with friends for delicious pintxos (tapas) and a glass of wine of beer.  During the summer months the population swells to around 400,000.  It is a popular tourist destination for families who come over to enjoy the sunshine and beaches.  We also have one of the best surfing beaches in Europe (La Zurriola).  People who live here are generally very fit and active and enjoy running and biking along the beachfront and the city is famous for its gastronomy and boasts the highest number of Michelin stars per capita in the world!

San Sebastian is a well connected city – only an hour by car from Bilbao and we are also very close to the border with France.  We enjoy popping over to the beautiful towns and villages of St Jean de Luz and Biarritz when we can on a Saturday or Sunday and stocking up on delicious French food and wine!

Most people in San Sebastian live in apartments but we are lucky to live in a lovely very light and sunny five bedroom house only a fifteen minute walk into the centre of town or 5 minute bus ride.  The town is very accessible and it is easy and safe to walk everywhere.  Our house has a nice attic which is where you would be living (bedroom and living space) and a small garden. We are a ten minute walk from a beautiful park and it is a lovely tranquil area despite being so close to the buzz of the town!

Jon is the CEO of our company and as such works long hours during the week and is regularly away travelling on business.  I also work part time in the business, two days a week.

Emilia is four years old and a lovely little happy girl.  She loves reading, drawing, painting, dancing and is generally very sociable.  She attends the local English school which is a bus ride away or a short 5 minute car journey.  Leo is nearly two years old. He is a sweet natured, very happy little boy but very energetic and very inquisitive so you have to keep your eyes on him at all times!

We are looking for an aupair to help look after Emilia and Leo.  Someone with a genuine interest and previous experience in childcare and looking after young children and a good level of English – so that communication is not a problem.  Spanish would also be a real bonus as we want Emilia to speak in Spanish and practice as much as possible as we speak to her in English most of the time but at school she speaks Spanish with the teachers and her friends.

Ideally you will be able to drive.

For your help we will provide you with full bed and board.  Your bedroom is a double room in the attic with a living space inc TV, DVD and a spinning bike which my husband uses now and again!  You wouldn’t have to share the shower and bathroom with anyone else (unless we had family or guests visiting) but they are on the first floor of the house (downstairs one floor) not in the attic.

We will pay 70-100 Euro pocket money a week and perhaps if you are interested in cooking you could attend one of our Basque cooking classes or wine tastings!

Will we accept a Smoker?:
Only Outside
Au pair Annexe
Type of home:
Gender preference:
Do we have any pets?:
Country - IMPORTANT - Please select your country!:
Families language/s:
English, Spanish
Do we have a cleaner?:
Is babysitting required?:
twice a month
Essential Language/s:
English or Spanish
Use of a vehicle?:
Do we need a driver?: