100221



Family id:

100221

Location:

Italy

Nationality:

Accept all nationalities.

First name (partner):
Domenico
Age:
44
Partners Age:
47
Religion:
Christian
Partners Religion:
Catholic
Minimum stay:
12 months

Description

This family is registered with our Platinum listings. Interested aupairs please contact:  admin@aupair-agency.com 

Dear Aupair,
We are a British-Italian family (I am British-Canadian, my husband is Italian) currently living up by the lakes in the north of Italy, very close to Varese lake and 20-30 mins drive from Lago Maggiore and Lago di Como. We lived in Luxembourg for 15 years, where our children were born then spent 3 years in a London before coming to Italy at the end of 2016.  We are very happy here and don’t plan to move again.  I work for a large UK Bank in Milan and my husband works in European sales for an Italian payments company. We have two children, a son who is 12 and a daughter who is 8. They are both very sociable and friendly, although perhaps not so much with each other!  Our son will be starting boarding school in Scotland (the country I grew up in) this autumn so outside school holidays it would just be our daughter to look after.  She is very artistic, loves drawing, creating things, fashion and rearranging her room. She would like to be a cleaning lady when she grows up or the first female president of Italy, she has not made her mind up yet! Our son is passionate about sport (tennis, riding, skiing, football…) and wants to be an astrophysicist when he is older.   He is very excited about going to boarding school but I know it will be a huge adjustment for all of us.  We speak both Italian and English as a family, and are also fluent in French.
Our daughter  has type 1 diabetes which she has had since she was just 21 months old. We are very adept at dealing with her varying bloodsugars and she is taking on some responsibility of her own for checking her levels and giving herself insulin boluses through her pump (always under careful supervision!). We have always had nannies and are used to training them in her care but some prior knowledge or medical experience is a great bonus.We are happy that we have moved back to Italy and will be moving at the end of June from an apartment in the center of Varese to a villa near Varese lake which is about 10 mins drive/bus/direct train to Varese and 1 hour (direct frequent trains) from the center of Milan. If you like the outdoor life there is plenty of cycling to be enjoyed with a 25k cycle path (I use it for running) around the lake only 5 mins walk away, as well as outdoor pools and water parks, rowing, sailing and horse riding all close by, and the Alps only 90 mins drive away (we all love to ski!)
We have a cleaner 2 days a week so only light tidying up  will be required in between. The main focus is on being there for our daughter after school Monday to Thursday and occasionally on Fridays (I usually have Friday afternoons off and like to spend them with her). She has a half day on Wednesday and Friday and otherwise finishes at 4pm.  We would also like some help in the mornings to get her off to the school bus and occasional evening or weekend babysitting to be agreed.  Sometimes there will be things to pick up at the shop and it would be great if you can make dinner or at least get it started most evenings as we get home quite late (between 7 and 8 pm).  Once we are home you are welcome to eat and also spend the evening with us (outdoors in summer mainly board games and films in winter) but would be off the hook for childcare except for occasional babysitting. In return we will be very happy to welcome the right person into our family wholeheartedly, to make sure that you discover the real Italy (my husband is 100% Italian, very passionate and knowledgeable about his country) and truly live the experience.
I can guarantee that there will always be great coffee and excellent healthy food, someone to talk to and good humour every day. We have had nannies for 10 years now, since our son was in his first year, and our relationship has always been excellent with them – I would be very happy to provide references from our nannies if you like!
You will have your own room and bathroom on a separate floor to the rest of the family. This floor is hardly used so it will be like having the entire floor to yourself so you can enjoy a lot of privacy in your free time.  We would be happy to help find you Italian classes locally and to help you make contacts in the very broad expat and Italian communities in the area.
We would prefer an aupair who is a native English, French or Italian speaker please.
If having read all this, you are interested in being our Au Pair, and would be available to start at the latest by the beginning of September 2018, please let me know and we can set up a Skype call as soon as possible. I will also send photos to you. The week that you start with us either my husband or I will work from home each day so that we can be there to help you settle in and welcome you in to our family.

Will we accept a Smoker?:
No
Type of home:
House
Gender preference:
Female
Accommodation:
Own room and own bathroom on a separate floor.
Do we have any pets?:
no
Pocket money:
To be discussed
Country - IMPORTANT - Please select your country!:
Italy
Families language/s:
English, Italian.
Do we have a cleaner?:
part time
Is babysitting required?:
Once per week.
Available Transport:
we live close to very good transport links to Varesi and Milan.
Language school:
Plenty
Use of a vehicle?:
Sometimes
Nationalities:
Accept all nationalities.
Do we need a driver?:
useful
AM Duties:

Help getting ready for school, tidying house for the day.

PM Duties:

Collecting from school, homework, play, supper, get ready for bed.

Any Special Needs:

Elisa has type 1 diabetes. She has an insulin pump and a glucose monitor. We have always had nannies and are used to training them in her care.

Diet:

Healthy.