Family id:



United Kingdom


All nationalities.

  • Require Au Pair
  • London
  • Posted 4 months ago
First name (partner):
Partners Age:
Partners Religion:
Minimum stay:
3 months


Dear Au Pair

I’m Cathy, Peter is my husband and Raoul (age 17) and Syrus (age 10) are our sons. We live in Lee, which is a residential area in South East London.

Lee has a few shops and restaurants, but is also very close to Blackheath and Greenwich which are busier and have a range of shops, bars and restaurants. Greenwich also has a large park and several museums and historic buildings. The local train station is Lee which is a 10 minute walk away and it takes about 15 minutes to central London by train. There is another station slightly further away in Blackheath. Local buses take you to Blackheath and Greenwich if you don’t like to walk. We have a bike if you like to cycle.

Our house is a large Edwardian townhouse. It has 4 bedrooms, plus a study/spare bedroom. It has a good size garden with a trampoline and table tennis table. We have 2 cats who are both very friendly.

I am a Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist, working with children with severe mental health difficulties. Peter is a design engineer. He works in Cambridge currently designing hair straighteners and curlers for the company GHD.

I am generally out between 7.30am – 6pm on 3 days per week. The other 2 days I either work at home or have meetings in London which means I can leave a little later and be home earlier. Pete has similar hours and also sometimes works from home.

Syrus is 10 and a half years old, and is a very active child. He loves playing in the garden, playing board games, making things, swimming and riding his bicycle. He attends a local school which is a 10 minute walk away. All of your child care duties will be involving Syrus as Raoul will be 18 in November. He generally comes home later than Syrus because he plays lots of sport or goes out with friends after school.

We are looking for an Au Pair to help with Syrus whilst we are at work. We would like to find someone with a genuine interest in childcare and a good level of English, so that communication is not a problem.

A typical day will be:

Being downstairs by 7.15am and making sure that Syrus is up and ready for school. Making his breakfast and walking him to school, then collecting him from school (it varies between 3 and 4pm), and playing with him until we return home. Whilst he is at school you would help out with light housework (up to an hour per day). We have a cleaner who comes weekly to do the bulk of the housework.

This is approximately 20-25 hours per week. The free time during the day will enable you to attend a language school if you wish. There are language classes in Greenwich, a bus or cycle ride away, which several of our previous Au Pairs have attended. The school also provides a good social events programme.

We will need you to babysit on one weekend night and occasionally on one mid-week night.

For your help we will provide you with full bed and board. Your bedroom is a double room on the top floor of the house. There is a bathroom on the same floor, and another bathroom on the floor below. There is also a T.V. & DVD player and wifi in your room.

I hope that my letter provide you with an insight to our family. There is much more to tell.

If you think you might like to come to our family please let me know.

I’m happy to answer any questions that you might have. We can chat on email or arrange to speak on Skype.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards


Pets in the home:
2 cats
Will we accept a Smoker?:
Only Outside
Broadband/Wifi. Central London 12-15 mins by train
Type of home:
Semi detached, 5 bedroom house. 3 bathrooms, garden. Large kitchen
Gender preference:
Own bedroom with TV, DVD, wifi. Bathroom on same floor.
Do we have any pets?:
Country - IMPORTANT - Please select your country!:
United Kingdom
Do we have a cleaner?:
Is babysitting required?:
1 weekend night plus 1 midweek night.
Available Transport:
Bustop 2 minutes walk away. Nearest train station 10 minutes walk away.
Language school:
In Greenwich, short bus ride away
Will we need you to Shop?:
Nearest shops 5-10 minutes walk away nearest centre, Blackheath is 15 minutes walk.
Essential Language/s:
Reasonable level of English.
Use of a vehicle?:
All nationalities.
Do we need a driver?:
AM Duties:

Get Syrus ready for school, give him breakfast and take to school. Tidy up after breakfast.

PM Duties:

Light housework. Pick Syrus up from school, look after him until I return. Give him a snack & drink.